Victory Is Mine

Soybean oil. Soybean oil. La la la la la, soybean oil. Soybean oil.

In the time I have been dealing with a soy allergy, frozen waffles have become the Holy Grail of my food existence. And, now, I’m absolutely convinced that there are no frozen waffles anywhere in the entire freaking world that aren’t made with soybean oil (well, at least in the D.C. area). And, I am a waffle fan.

I love waffles.

More than oatmeal.

More than pancakes.

More than a lot of things.

And, yet, sadly, so much time has gone by since my last waffle, well, let’s not talk about it. Mom Eat was kind enough to make me waffles once and I enjoyed every delicious, crunchy, soft on the inside bite. Sweet, crunchy waffle, topped with a dollop of butter and real maple syrup. Alright, enough talk. Let’s get to the nitty gritty.

Waffles for you and me.

So, a couple of days after Christmas I went to Target and picked up a waffle maker and my first try, well, let’s just say dud. That’s the nicest call you’re gonna get on that one. Then, I decided to try again. But, it took time. Determination. Ambition.

And, it all came together this weekend.

You can find any good homemade waffle recipe all over the internet.  I made a few adjustments to the recipe I found in the Oster manual. After you find the recipe, write it down with your adjustments, because you’re definitely gonna be making waffles again, definitely).

Some tips on making homemade waffles (which are probably super obvious to many of you):

  1. Make sure the waffle maker is preheated. You don’t want to pour batter onto a cold surface. Yuck.
  2. Start with liquid ingredients, mix those, then slowly pour in dry ingredients so the mixture doesn’t get too lumpy and unmanageable.
  3. Cook waffles until you no longer see steam escaping the machine. I don’t care what the instructions say; 4-5 minutes usually does not cut it.  I cooked each waffle I made for at least 6-8 minutes.
  4. If the waffle maker opens up a little while the waffle cooks, relax. Have a drink. There’s still some time to go.

Now, watch, and enjoy.

We started with this.

And, then we started on our liquid ingredients. Eggs first. 1 egg yolk, 2 egg whites, beat until “stiff” which means that the liquid starts to gel, like this:

Then, more good stuff. Vanilla, oil, mmm.  Is anyone else craving waffles right now?

Then, mix all your dry ingredients separately-whatever the recipe calls for, and add any ingredients that are going to up the ante here, like shredded apple, cinnamon and pecans, bananas and walnuts, chocolate chips, blueberries. My goodness. The possibilities are endless.  Slowly add the dry mix to the liquid mix. Yum yum.

I went with original flavor today but that’s just because it was my first try. Next time there’ll be no holding me back.

Now, the really good part.

Steam! It’s cooking. It’s working! It’s doing something!

Then, you wait, until all the steam escapes so says the instruction manual and/or 5 minutes, whichever you like I guess. I’m probably guessing because I never pay close enough attention to instruction manuals, of any kind.

But, you wait. That part I mastered.

And, before you know it (actually it might be a little longer than you think, so be patient. The crunchy waffles will be worth it, I promise you.)

Waffle!  And, in Boy Eat’s words: That looks like a waffle.

The inevitable bite, of course…

And, yet, to me, it is so much more, so much much more than a waffle. It is one more moment in time, where I feel like everyone else. Where waffles become possible. Where one tiny little obstacle was conquered and reminded me, once again, that anything is possible.

Soy free waffles anyone? They are freaking delicious.

2 thoughts on “Victory Is Mine

Leave a Reply

