Coco-Love Curry

Sometimes, it rains. All day. Several times. Sometimes, it rains just a teeny little bit all day long and when you get home you can not do anything else until you jump in the shower and stand under the blow dryer for five hundred hours. Today was one of those days.

D.C. suffered a bad weather day. The temperatures were mild but it rained all day. In spots. Drizzle. All freaking day long so that you had the benefit of getting drizzled on over and over again and not just all at once and then you dry off. Done.

So, at the end of the day, I raced home to get into the shower. To stand in hot water, not cold, for a change and to feel clean again, because rain may be water but it does not leave you feeling clean. After five hundred hours enjoying the feeling of hot water, followed by hot air from the blow dryer I knew exactly what I wanted for dinner.

Something warm.
Something spicy.
Something that would not take five hundred hours to make. (I’d already wasted all that time under the hair dryer, after all).

And for a moment I flashed back to the last time I came home frustrated by rain. To the meal that made me full, and made me smile. The meal that matched the problem, then slayed it.

CocoLove Curry (serves 2)

Pour two tsp of sunflower/safflower/canola oil (cooking oil of choice) into a skillet. Use a skillet or pan with a little depth; we will be adding liquid in a moment.

Toss 1 tsp of turmeric and 2 tsp of curry powder of your choice into the pan (I highly suggest Penzey’s Maharajah Curry Powder. Oh yummy, I can taste it now) and toast the spices in the oil. Oh me, oh my, I feel a curry high.

Now, throw in your favorite veggies and protein. Anything works, but my favorites for this curry are any mix of sweet potatoes, potatoes, carrots, zucchini, cauliflower.

Saute the veggies for a few minutes or until the vegetables are slightly tender but also slightly crunchy. No one likes a mushy veggie curry. Then saute the protein of your choice with the veggies until cooked.

Now, add in one can of lite coconut milk. Yes, one whole can. Don’t skimp here we want some meat (well, not necessarily meat).

Ok, you’re doing it. We are so close.

Simmer for 5-6 minutes uncovered on low-medium heat depending on the effectiveness of your stove. Don’t go crazy. Take it slow. This won’t take long.

****If you’re feeling like you want a little extra pop, throw in 1/2 tsp of lemon juice. Real lemon juice. Oh yes.

Meanwhile, get one cup of cooked rice and put it in a bowl. Make a hole in the middle of the soft, hot rice for curry. Warm, spicy, delicious curry.

Once the curry is done, pour the desired amount of curry into your bowl. Oh my goodness. I want it now. You could also serve it with naan. Or both rice and naan. Help me.

Turns out tonight I ended up eating spaghetti. But, this flashback will definitely be on my mind the next rainy day that comes around. And, knowing my beautiful city, that won’t be long.

4 thoughts on “Coco-Love Curry

Leave a Reply

