Veggie Love (Part 2)

It’s definitely love. Veggie Love. Pure and simple.

Now, I in NO WAY AT ALL claim to be a chef. Or, even a cook for that matter. But, I do cook. From time to time. Mostly every day (food allergy and all). I’m not a recipe maker either. Mostly, my recipes come from watching my mom cook my entire life (oh how grateful I am for that experience) and a few come from watching food network all the time. Well, not all the time, but a lot.

In my house we never operated on recipes. Mom Eat uses intuition. For those of us not blessed with that sixth sense, I’ve created some guidelines for this little dish.

So, just to keep things clear here, this little veggie dish is the easiest little dish in the world.

1 tbsp of sunflower/safflower/any light tasting veggie oil in a skillet, on medium heat.

Add 1 tsp turmeric and one heaping teaspoon of cumin. (Or less if you don’t really love cumin. Or not at all if you cannot stand cumin. But, please give cumin a chance. It really makes these veggies pop).

Add salt. About 1/2 a teaspoon. I won’t tell you how much I add, but I will say this. You might need more later. That’s alright. Veggies can be very forgiving of things like timing.

Let the spices simmer for a couple of seconds in the hot oil. The flavor will burst and you will smell smoky, sultry cumin. Oh me. Oh my.

Toss in your potatoes. 5 smaller potatoes, peeled and roughly chopped. Or one big potato. Or a sweet potato. Go crazy. It’s what you want that matters.

Toss in a couple handfuls of chopped carrots. Baby carrots. Big carrots. Just carrots. Any kind will do.

Then, throw in some beets. Canned beets are fine, but rinse them with water first. Can goo is icky. For everyone.

Stir the veggies around in the warm cumin and oh. This is working.

Put a lid on it for a couple of minutes to let the veggies get just soft enough to eat but not too soft so they are mushy. Take the lid off, give the veggies a whirl on medium high heat and keep stirring them around until you are satisfied (taking breaks to yell Boy Eat, find something on tv! Where’s my robe? Can you put on some music?) and stop and stir as often as you would like. Listen to the sizzle. Man, I love the sound of that sizzle.

Then when you are done, pour the veggies into two bowls, or four. You have plenty, but oh, I love these veggies.

Then, eat them. And savor every single bite. Oh cumin. Oh my. And make a boy eat them. He’ll be glad he did. Maybe even try them on a child. And when they smile you will know. You’ve won this battle, now off to the war.

2 thoughts on “Veggie Love (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

