The Hunger Games

Last night, I tossed and turned while boyeat slept, comfortably, off somewhere in dreamland, for sure. Aaarrgh.

I kept tossing and turning until finally I woke up boy eat, accidentally, of course.

“What’s wrong?” he asked with that tone of I’m here to help you please tell me what it is so we are not up until 4 in the morning.

“I’m hungry.”

“So, go eat something.”

The end.

For who knows how long I had this incredibly simple problem running around in my head. I felt the pangs in my stomach. I wanted to eat something. My body wanted food. But, I laid still, wondering, should I start eating a late night snack? Maybe I could wait until breakfast? Maybe dinner did not have enough protein? Is it too late? Would I get sick? How would I feel in the morning? Maybe…..aaaaaaaaagh.

Too.many.factors.this.is.not.trigonometry.

Over the course of our relationship I’ve watched boy eat and all his bizarre to me eating patterns.  Sometimes a slice of pizza would be eaten for breakfast.inthemorning.like college people. Other times he ate a bowl of cereal at 2 am then crashed. Some nights he was not hungry for dinner. But, for him it was simple. Hungry? Eat. Not hungry? Don’t.

For me, on the other hand, it was not. I always had to analyze everything.todeath.andthensome.

Eat more fiber! Load up on greens!  Fill your plate with veggies. Eat protein rich meals. Eat throughout the day. Snack healthy. Eat “good” carbs and healthy fats.

We hear messages all day, every day that tell us we can stay full. We should stay full. We can design our plate so craftly that we will not get hungry. for hours. at least. Go us.

Last night, it all came to a head for me.

Why not just get up out of bed and eat something? When did we make hunger the frenemy?

These games we play with hunger can defeat us. Our bodies ask for food when we are hungry.  Hunger is in fact a sign of health, of wellness, something to be cherished, and, as my dad would say, a chance to eat! 

Health is important but hunger (real, true feel it in your gut will eat anything hunger) is your body trying to be healthy.

I got up out of bed and filled a bowl with Ritz like crackers and peanut butter. So simple, so good. The best part? I fell asleep like a baby and woke up feeling refreshed, happy.

Now, I am not saying this is a boy/girl thing. This is a boyeat girleat thing. And I’m not proud of it. But, last night I made a promise to myself, to never overthink hunger again. Let’s eat. 

Leave a Reply

